

Minutes of a Special Meeting of Council held at the Northampton Council Chambers, Northampton, on Tuesday 20<sup>th</sup> October 2009 for the purpose of swearing in of Councillors and the Election of the President, Deputy President, Committees and Delegates.

#### 10.1 PRESENT

Cr G Wilson	Northampton Ward
Cr O Simkin	Northampton Ward
Cr Elect B Cripps	Northampton Ward
Cr Elect G Leggett	Northampton Ward
Cr Elect T Carson	Northampton Ward
Cr Elect J Booth	Kalbarri Ward
Cr Elect S Penn	Kalbarri Ward
Cr P Gliddon	Kalbarri Ward
Cr L Parker	Kalbarri Ward
Mr G L Keeffe	Chief Executive Officer
Mr J C Criddle	Deputy Chief Executive Officer

#### 10.2 APOLOGIES

Cr Elect Stock-Standen Northampton Ward

#### 10.3 OPENING OF MEETING

The Chief Executive Officer declared the meeting open at 9:30am.

#### 10.4 SWEARING IN OF COUNCILLORS

Councillors' Booth, Carson, Leggett, Penn and Cripps each in turn took the Oath of Allegiance/Affirmation of Allegiance, read and signed the declaration to the Office of Councillor.

#### 10.5 ELECTION OF PRESIDENT

The Chief Executive Officer called for nominations for the position of Shire President. One nomination was received nominating Cr G Wilson for Shire President. There being no further nominations Cr G Wilson was elected to the position of Shire President for a two-year term.

Cr G Wilson read aloud and signed the declaration to the Office of Shire President.

Cr G Wilson thanked Councillors for their confidence in electing him to the office of President and welcomed the new Councillors Booth, Carson, Leggett, Penn and Cripps and the re-elected Councillor Stock-Standen.

#### 10.6 ELECTION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT

Cr G Wilson took the chair and called for nominations for the position of Deputy Shire President.

President.....



# Minutes of a Special Meeting of Council held at the Northampton Council Chambers, Northampton, on Tuesday 20<sup>th</sup> October 2009 for the purpose of swearing in of Councillors and the Election of the President, Deputy President, Committees and Delegates.

One nomination was received nominating Cr L Parker for Deputy Shire President. There being no further nominations Cr L Parker was elected to the position of Deputy Shire President for a two-year term.

Cr L Parker read aloud and signed the declaration to the Office of Deputy Shire President.

### 10.7 QUESTION TIME

There were members of the public present but no questions were raised.

## 10.8 ELECTION OF COMMITTEE'S

#### 10.8.1 AUDIT COMMITTEE

Moved Cr P Gliddon, seconded Cr G Leggett That the below Councillors be appointed to their respective Committees for a two year term:

#### **Audit Committee**

Cr's G Wilson, L Parker, P Gliddon & S Stock-Standen

Housing Committee Cr's G Leggett, G Wilson, J Booth & L Parker, DCEO & EHO/Building Surveyor

#### Disability Services Committee

Cr's P Gliddon, G Leggett, J Booth and EHO

#### Batavia Coast Regional Organisation Council

President, Deputy President and CEO (as per BROC agreement) with two alternates being Cr P Gliddon and Cr O Simkin

#### Kalbarri Airport Joint Venture Committee

Cr's G Wilson, L Parker & CEO Alternates – Cr's P Gliddon & O Simkin

#### **Plant Replacement Committee**

Cr's G Wilson, B Cripps, O Simkin, T Carson, S Stock Standen, CEO, Deputy CEO and Manager of Works & Technical Services

Staff Occupational, Health & Safety Committee

Cr G Wilson, Deputy Cr P Gliddon (observer capacity only)

#### Kalbarri Planning Strategy Committee

Cr's P Gliddon, S Penn, J Booth, Planner & 3 community representatives Deputy's Cr's G Wilson & L Parker

# CARRIED BY ABSOLUTE MAJORITY 9/0

President.....

Date 20<sup>th</sup> November 2009



Minutes of a Special Meeting of Council held at the Northampton Council Chambers, Northampton, on Tuesday 20<sup>th</sup> October 2009 for the purpose of swearing in of Councillors and the Election of the President, Deputy President, Committees and Delegates.

### 10.9 ELECTION OF DELEGATES

Moved Cr O Simkin, seconded Cr B Cripps

That the below Councillors be appointed to delegates of their respective organisation for a two-year term;

Northampton Townscape Committee Cr G Leggett

Northampton Country Club Cr's B Cripps & O Simkin

Northampton Tourist Association Cr G Leggett

Northampton Historical Society Cr G Leggett

Kalbarri Development Association – includes Kalbarri Townscape Committee Cr's P Gliddon & J Booth

#### Kalbarri Tourist Association

Cr P Gliddon as delegate & Cr J Booth as deputy

# Kalbarri Sport & Recreation Club

Cr L Parker

Kalbarri Maritime Advisory Committee Cr's P Gliddon, L Parker and CEO

Kalbarri Aged Persons Homes Management Committee Cr P Gliddon

Agricultural Protection Board & Emu Barrier Fence Cr T Carson & Cr B Cripps as deputy

**Coastal Sub Group of the Regional Road Group** Cr G Wilson & CEO with Cr L Parker as deputy

**Galena Mining Area Heritage Advisory Committee** Cr P Gliddon & Principal Planner

Senior Staff Employment Performance Review Panel Cr's L Parker, P Gliddon, G Wilson, J Booth, O Simkin & CEO

President.....

Date 20<sup>th</sup> November 2009

3



Minutes of a Special Meeting of Council held at the Northampton Council Chambers, Northampton, on Tuesday 20<sup>th</sup> October 2009 for the purpose of swearing in of Councillors and the Election of the President, Deputy President, Committees and Delegates.

Cr B Cripps as deputy

# Kalbarri PCYC

Cr's L Parker & J Booth

CARRIED 9/0

#### 10.10 CLOSURE

There being no further business for discussion, the President thanked those members present for their attendance and declared the meeting closed at 10.01am.

President.....